Season of Epiphany

Several Protestant churches celebrate an Epiphany season that starts with the Day of Epiphany and ends the day before Ash Wednesday, which marks the beginning of the season of Lent. The last Sunday of Epiphany is Transfiguration Sunday.

The day of Epiphany, 6 January, (the 12th day after Christmas) is celebrated as the revelation of Christ to all nations as represented by the magi who come to worship Jesus, and theme of light coming into the darkness is prominent. 

The length of the season of Epiphany varies and is determined by working backward through the season of Lent from the moveable date for the celebration of Easter. Among the principal themes are: the revelation of Christ to all nations (Epiphany), Jesus’ baptism in the River Jordan (1st Sunday after Epiphany), and Christ as the light of the world. 

The colours of the season are white (a colour associated with the festivals of Christ and suggesting gladness, joy and light for the day of Epiphany), used the first week after the Epiphany and the last week of the season of Epiphany when the Transfiguration is celebrated; and green, reminiscent of living plants and suggesting spiritual growth. Green is used in the season of Epiphany beginning with the second week after the Epiphany through to the week before the Transfiguration.

Epiphany 1A (12-01-2020)

Epiphany 1B (10-01-2021)

Epiphany 1C (09-01-2022)

Epiphany 2A (19-01-2020)

Epiphany 2B (17-01-2021)

Epiphany 2C (16-01-2022)

Epiphany 3A (26-01-2020)

Epiphany 3B, The Day of Mourning (24-01-2021)

Epiphany 3C (23-01-2022)

Epiphany 4A (02-02-2020)

Epiphany 4C (30-01-2022)

Epiphany 5A (09-02-2020)

Epiphany 5B (07-02-2021)

Epiphany 5C (06-02-2022)

Epiphany 6A – Evolution Sunday (16-02-2020)

Epiphany 6C (13-02-2022)

Epiphany 7C (20-02-2022)

Transfiguration Sunday A (23-02-2020)

Transfiguration Sunday B (14-02-2021)

Transfiguration Sunday C (27-02-2022)

An open, virtual door to the world