Easter for Christians is not just one day, but rather a 50-day period. The season of Easter, or Eastertide, begins at sunset on the eve of Easter and ends on Pentecost, the day we celebrate the gift of the Holy Spirit and the birth of the Church (see Acts 2).

Easter is also more than just an extended celebration of the resurrection of Jesus. In the early church, Lent was a season for new converts to learn about the faith and prepare for baptism on Easter Sunday. The initial purpose of the 50-day Easter season (7 Sundays) was to continue the faith formation of new Christians.

Today, this extended season gives us time to rejoice and experience what it means when we say Christ is risen. It’s the season when we remember our baptisms and how, through this sacrament, we are, according to the liturgy, “incorporated into Christ’s mighty acts of salvation.” As ‘Easter people,’ we also ponder and prepare to celebrate the birth of the Church and gifts of the Spirit at Pentecost, and how we are to live as faithful disciples of Christ.

Click on the links below to explore the Sunday themes.

Easter – “The Stuff of Easter”

Easter 2 – “Feeling Low”

Easter 3 – “God of Surprises”

Easter 4 – “Calling Forth Life”

Easter 5 – “A Revisioned World”

Easter 6 – “The Undeservinv Poor”

Easter 7 – “Jesus Means Freedom”

An open, virtual door to the world